A new chapter

As I get prepared to a new chapter in my life, I started reading the book “Lean In” by Sheryl Sandberg. Although one can tell that she talks from a “very” privileged position, I could identify with many things she points out in her book. Of course, it will take me some time to follow her advices specially those of negotiating a salary even after you think you got a fair offer.

Here are some of the things I highlighted:

Throughout my life, I was told over and over about inequalities in the workplace and how hard it would be to have a career and a family. I rarely heard anything, however, about the ways I might hold myself back.

This is hold true for me too. Specially now that I am about to turn 35. Everything is related to how I should prepare myself to bring babies and cope with family.

Men generally earn more than women, so people expect  women to earn less. And they do.

When girls are reminded of their gender before math or science test, even by something as simple as checking off an M or F box at the top of the test, they perform worse. Stereotype threat discourages girls and women from entering technical fields and ir one of the key reasons that so few study computer science.

This is a bit interesting and I think it applies for certain cultures specially for the United States. As ironical as it may seem, Latin American women do not have much of an option. At least for my generation, you know that you have to follow a career that is relevant enough to make a living. Unfortunately, those career in Latin America are limited to law, medicine and engineering.

 

(to be continued..)

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

